Local Rockers

Let me take you down to memory lane to the beginning of the year, 6th of January to be exact.

It was a dark crisp night in Fortitude Valley, rain had just started to drizzle and I was staggering into Brunswick Street with a few vodka and raspberries in my system. Tacky I know but, when it comes down to $5 a drink I can slam them down my throat so fast you would think it was water. I heard some funky thumping coming from a small compact bar, The Crowbar was thriving with people thrashing their heads up and down from the metal tones.

I followed the metal sounds down the stairs where the atmosphere was filled with whiskey, smoke and screams from the crowd that were submerged to the front of a small stage.  I looked around to see what bands were playing, my eyes diverting to the band members who belonged to Scarlet Kill who were playing first.

Scarlet Kill, four young boys from beautiful Gold Coast owned the stage by singing their killer new EP She Draws The Heart Out Of My Life. Young cuties, Will and younger brother Mitch Tyler shared vocal duties, the band had a unique dynamic thats very much their own. Twin brother to Will, Matt’s skills on the bass adds punchy bass lines that tighten the sound, while on the drums Bryce Legdin adds energy and excitement to their live shows.

Next on stage was the empowering The Wisher & The Well, who roared the crowed up and seized the moment with every chord they had. Formed in mid 2015 by vocalist James Waters, The Wisher & The Well are a post-rock group from Brisvagas. Coming a long way form their roots, they have readapted to a ‘new era’ sound of ambient post-hardcore backed by powerful melodic pop vocals.

They tried to do a cover of booty shaking pop song, Don’t Let Me Down which was originally sang by the award-winning artists Chainsmokers. It started out strong, however they just couldn’t get the song out and instead just laughed at themselves for being too “cooked” to play. It didn’t matter if it was true or not, they still rocked their hearts out and was the most entertaining set throughout the night.

The third and my favourite set was Skies Collied who I have been listening too since I saw them for the very first time, when they were the supporting act for Mayday Parade back in October last year. If you don’t know already, Skies Collide are a 4 piece female-fronted pop-rock band from Brisbane. After fan girling over Brittany Wilson the vocalists of the band, I sang along to all of my fav songs; Hollow Heart and Walls.

The stars for the night, Awaken I am emerged from the the dark backstage and shocked the airways with their hard-core fever. Originating from the Gold Coast, Awaken I am have earned a reputation as one of the next up ‘metal rockers’ which resulted in soaring over to the big city U.S.A to record their latest album with Victory Records and renowned producer Taylor Larson. Their new song, Slumber is a perfect  example on how talented and hardworking these boys are. Already making re-appearances in their hometown and Brisbane throughout this year, I know for sure these boys will destroy the rock world.

 

Leave a Reply

